The R. Scott Handel Leadership Scholarship

Established in 2008, in memory of GHRoW co-founder R. Scott Handel, this endowed scholarship recognizes exceptional student leadership at Shenandoah Valley Academy.

The R. Scott Handel Leadership Scholarship plaque was created and hung in the lobby of Dale E. Twomley Hall at Shenandoah Valley Academy in 2016.  Pictured left is the plaque as it appeared in 2016.  Every year since 2016, the scholarship recipient has added their name plate to the plaque.  It reads,


Established in memory of R. Scott Handel (1964–2008) by the GHRoW Foundation. This endowed scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding leader at SVA. Scott (SVA Class of 1982) was a gifted leader, serving as Junior and Senior class president at SVA. He continued his service in college, graduate school, to his church, community, and beloved Alma Mater, co-founding the GHRoW Foundation in 1991 to benefit SVA students.

R. Scott Handel Leadership Scholarship Donors

 Anonymous (multiple)

Banks, Russ and Kari

Handel, Allison

Handel, Kimberly Hegstad

Hegstad, Douglas

Hegstad, Roland and Stella

Henkel, Tom and Lauron Noble

Larios, Kevin

Lyon, Bill

Lyon, Linda

Mashburn, Mark and Donna

Mills, Danyce

Narvaez, Juan

Perez, Rick and Marilyn Miles

Reile, David and Suddarth, Barbara

Stong, Jeff and Darla

Ware, Paul and Susan

Wayner, Joseph R., Sr. and Ethel

White, Gerald and Caroline

Williams, Tony and Tracey

R. Scott Handel Leadership Endowment Balance is $115,500*

* on 6/30/2023.

The RSH Leadership Scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding student leader chosen from the Sophomore, Junior, and Senior Class Presidents, the Boys’ and Girls’ Club Presidents and the Student Association President. The scholarship includes $2,500 from the Endowment earnings.